Major Influences #4 – Chris Cester

Chris Cester. What band does he play in? Jet… The iPod Commercial band. The “Are You Gonna Be My Girl?” band. One of the many bands that rose to fame and disappeared without anyone noticing.

Did you know they actually had three records? Actually, it is their third one that has been the most influential to me. The title is Shaka Rock and it goes like this:

Chris Cester played Gretsch and used a hihat and a crash/ride for cymbals. When I was 19, he was the first guy I ever saw playing in a major league band with that kind of setup. He actually was my introduction to this kind of drumming as I was soon to appreciate Ringo, Mitch, Ginger etc etc.

A hard hitting old-school styled drummer.

Leave a Reply

