Patterns Of Reality – Finding A Musical Alter Ego

One of the things that genuinely excite me about music is that everything we do has a somewhat historical background behind it. Most of our ideas and musical experimentations are in a way a product of the past,  meaning that someone has built a foundation for us to expand it and create something new. It’ s a legacy thing.

That said, it’ s always even more exciting to discover the musicians that shared common ideas with you in a different time and era. Enter, Jim Gordon. His case is similar to Hal Blaine, Earl Palmer, Pistol Allen etc etc: you may not have heard him by name but you have definitely listened to a record he’s playing at some point in your life. Gordon stood on the rockier side of things during the late ’60s/early ’70s as he was the drummer for the legendary Derek and the Dominos.

I was turned to a record he played on by one of the most talented guitar players in Greece, Alekos Voulgarakis. He told me to have a listen to Andy Robinson’s, “Patterns Of Reality” cause he thought the drums reminded him of me.

From the first run through the record I realised what a huge compliment that was. It’s one thing to like the drumming on a record, but to admire every single note played while thinking you wouldn’t change a thing on it… it’ something else. I fell in love with the drummer on “Patterns Of Reality”. He gave me a magical sense of belonging, a feeling that in some way what I personally do when I play the drums, actually has some historical existence. When I later found out who he was I became hysterical about it.

The way I think of it, it’s like finding an ancestor, a truly awesome one that you can always look up to and take inspiration from. So now, I am in the process of learning everything about him. Each masterful performance leads me to another one.


You can just have a glimpse on his huge discography and immediately understand that he should be probably standing amongst the great session legends. Unfortunately though, Jim Gordon is in jail at the moment for murdering his own mother because “her voice tormented him for years”. That’s awkward.

Leave a Reply

