Buddy Rich – Full Montreal Performance

I wish I was one of these drummers that proudly say phrases like: “Buddy Rich is one of my big influences”. Nope, he is not. Even though I own Big Swing Face and I ‘ve listened to it a dozen times I still can’t quite claim I can grasp the amazing brain of Buddy Rich.

What I surely can say is that watching his big band performances with good sound is like eye(and ear)-candy to me. You have a killer band, killer tunes and killin’ drum ideas hidden in every corner. This is a performance he did at Montreal Jazz Festival. He sounds immense with his Ludwigs here, almost like a rock drummer with the ultimate touch.

Leave a Reply

